Superheroes Don’t Always Wear a Cape

Superheroes Don’t Always Wear a Cape

My superhero didn’t wear a cape.

But he had super strength when he rescued me by picking me up when I would fall.

BUT he didn’t wear a cape.

My superhero had super human sight.  He always saw when I needed help and came to my rescue.

BUT he didn’t wear a cape.

My superhero silently rescued others so many times by making sure they had food, clothes, jobs,  or other things they needed when they needed help.  But like most superhero,  he didn’t give away his secret superhero identity so they never knew who to thank for their rescue.

My superhero never wore a cape,  but now he can fly.

It has been two years since my superhero flew away.  Like any superhero,  my superhero had his cryptonite,  his was called cancer!

Even though my superhero went by many names, only 3 of us called him by his superhero name “DADDY”.

Superheroes come in many forms,  protecting us from danger,  fighting off villans,  and sharing with us their lessons, knowing someday they will have to leave and preparing us to stand on our own.

My superhero will never be far away.  He silently stands with me like a cape, providing me protection and strength when he knows I need him .  We honor the superheroes of stories,  but we must never forget that it is the real life superheroes in our life are the ones that we should honor. 

In honor of my superhero,

Leonard Audino
DADDY
August 7, 1940 – July 3, 2009

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alan Edward Schbert
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 18:13:33

    Lisa………I just had a good & healthy cry after reading your post…..I am a cancer survivor and this really touched me……my best wishes to you……and I hope that we can meet some day soon…..Alan Schubert

    Reply

  2. Single Dad
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 17:27:03

    I lost my mom to cancer too (1990). I’m not sure how someone could give your post 1 star.

    Reply

    • lisaaudino
      Aug 18, 2011 @ 10:35:02

      Thank you! It is my hope to do whatever I can to honor those who have and are suffering from cancer by helping raise awareness and continuing to advocate for this very important cause. My father and so many others deserve to be honored and telling their stories will hopefully do that.

      Reply

  3. AnneMarie
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 12:26:49

    My daddy was my superhero, too. And his birthday was July 3. He passed away on July 19 in 2007. I began blogging because chemobrain pushed me right out of a high functioning, multi tasking financial position. THAT inability kinda gave my “husband” the ability to push me aside (no longer useful-my words; chemo changed me-his words). Anyway, this is beautiful and the only reason I bring up the darn blog is because I chose the moment of my dad’s passing as the moment to post my blog. This year, that was my way of remembering him and a reminder that my life path is changing and I want him at my side to help me navigate the rest of my life. I miss my daddy, too.

    Reply

  4. TravelMommy.com
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 20:23:59

    Rattling superb visual appeal on this website , I’d rate it 10 10.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Parenting Tips From Superheroes « Today's Dad Blog

I look forward to hearing from you!

Blog Stats

  • 1,981 hits

Past Journey

Breast Cancer Yoga

Breast Cancer Yoga Aids in Breast Cancer Recovery and Helps Manage Lymphedema

Cook County Judges

Send your comments to picepil@aol.com (see about for guidelines)

Pro Se Chicago's Weblog

Procedures, Example Documents, Legal Research, Links, and a Dose of Reality to Those Representing Themselves in C[r]ook County, Illinois for the Public Good

The Gamemaker's Father

The Story is The Game - John Jonelis

Chicago Venture Magazine

We tell the story of business in Chicago

Fraud Happens

Helping stop fraud one reader at a time. Email me: paul@mccormackwrites.com (404) 825 1040

Your Daily Coffee Shot c[__]

Because you need it to get your day started. c[__]

into the mind of susan avello

humor . work and life . a digital world . side of BS

Your Pocket Guru

Just another WordPress.com site

